Music on My Mind: July 2012 (Part 2: Super Junior)

Read Part 1 of July’s Music on My Mind here.

One of the main things I look forward to in the summer is a new Super Junior release. Since discovering Kpop in 2010, I have become completely immersed in this fandom called Kpop. Super Junior is my bias (Kpop lingo for  all-time favorite no matter what) group. I love every one of their 13 (or 15 depending how you look at it) members no matter if they are currently active in the group, serving in South Korea’s mandatory 2 year military service, or pursuing solo ventures. With Kangin’s return from his army service, I was looking forward to an awesome comeback and was not disappointed.

Sexy, Free & Single by Super Junior

Release Date: July 4th

First off, what was SM Entertainment thinking about the album art? Is that what they call effort? Any one with Microsoft Paint could do that. For those of us that are familiar with the Kpop world, we know that SME is one of the largest management companies and definitely has the resources to produce better album art.

But, this album is awesome. It has some really fun dance tracks, and some breath-taking ballads. The best of both worlds and what one is to expect from Super Junior.

Sexy, Free & Single is their promoted track. For me, the song is so-so compared to the other tracks on the album but the choreography is killer. They even perform it flawlessly when they don’t lip-synch. Shame on their management for allowing them to, but I guess they don’t want them to overuse their voices performing 3+ times a week. Check out the music video:

I first made fun of the teaser for sounding like “Sexy, free, and single, I’m ready to bingo” and was devastated when I found out they were the actual lyrics. But since it’s Super Junior, I’ll let the Engrish slide.

From U is a gift for ELF, their fanclub. If you’re one like me, your heart will just melt when hearing Leeteuk’s English. It’s really a great R&B song, featuring their main vocals, Kyuhyun, Ryeowook, and Yesung (KRY) for the main verses.

I wasn’t really drawn to Gulliver at first, but after listening to it a lot, it really grew on me. I kind of have a thing for these try-too-hard-to-be-dark-and-dirty-hip-hop like Exo’s Two Moons I find them both humorous and entertaining. I think I like them ironically, but I’m still trying to decide. The track features non-main-vocalists/rappers/random members Eunhyuk, Shindong, Donghae, and Leeteuk with Ryeowook as the main vocal.

Someday is a cover of an older Korean ballad. What I like about this song is that although it is a ballad, they include members other than KRY, and occasionally, Sungmin and Donghae (SD). I really like the tone of some of the other members’ voices, especially Kangin. It really showcases their talent as singers and even members that are “rappers” get a chance to sing. Anti-fans need to take a listen to the few songs that feature non-main vocalist talent and stop saying that Super Junior has too many members that can’t sing.

Now is a perfect summer song. Blast it while cruising down the highway. I dare you. Plus, Yesung has an awesome vocal solo. I can just die to his voice.

Would it be wrong to call Rockstar the Korean version of Sexy and I Know It by LMFAO? Super Junior is definitely channeling LMFAO in this track. It’s kind of obnoxiously fun and is a great workout track. It makes me want to dougie, if only I knew how.

Bittersweet is a ballad featuring KRYSD. I just love these 5 voices together. They each have a distinct sound and I can always who is singing when. The thing with Kpop idol groups is I have trouble getting into ballads, but I always love Super Junior ballads and I think these voices are the reason.

Butterfly is the next track, but I like to refer to the Korean title Papillon which is French for butterfly. Super Junior’s army of French fans must be ecstatic. This is my favorite dance/pop track off the entire album. It’s a perfect combination of vocals and rapping. Autotune is used correctly to benefit the sound of the song rather than take away from it.

My favorite ballad is Daydream. I really love Super Junior ballads with a simple piano melody, R&B beat, and rap break. It features the best of all the members.

The last track is appropriately titled A ‘Good’ Bye. This is my second favorite ballad. It’s very lullaby-ish at moments but has this tugging format that alternates between calm and yearning.

Since I wanted to talk about each track, I couldn’t write much about each one but you can probably tell I really liked this album. I think every song deserves a listen and there is no filler. Each track has it’s own character and personality so there is probably something on this album for everyone. And if by reading my blog it is your first time coming across Kpop, welcome! Just a warning, though: once you get in, it’s hard to get out.

Leave a Reply

