Mid- Band Camp Update

I’ve only been here two days and it feels like forever. Band camp has been nothing but non-stop drill, reps, and music rehearsals but it’s been great. My legs and feet are basically dead. I don’t really want to move off my bed.

Our show this year is looking pretty awesome so far, drill-wise and music-wise. I can’t wait to see a finished result because at the rate we’re going it’s going to be one heck of a half-time show. It’ll be such a shame if the student section is lame and decides to leave the football game at half-time.

Despite all the pain I’m in, I love being able to see my friends from band and catch up with them. I’ve also met some new members and they’re awesome too. This is what I love about band. It brings people together, no matter which state you’re from, whether you’ve marched before, or what year you’re in.

And a thought struck me today while running through a rep. Marching band is truly an amazing activity. Here was a group of over 300 people, all moving at the same time in more or less the same fashion, and playing music, without anything disastrous happening. Maybe I’m not good at conveying that thought through words but try taking a random group of 300 strangers and get them to do the same thing.

If you think marching band is a simple activity you’ve got it all wrong. There is so much running through a marching band member’s mind at one time. I’ve got to hit this line. I’ve got to make my steps bigger. I’ve got to step with my left foot. I’ve got to keep perfect posture. I’ve got to get this rhythm right. I’ve got to play these accidentals. I’ve got to play it louder. I’ve got to keep my eyes on the drum major. I’ve got to keep my eyes on everyone around me. I’ve got to consciously not listen to what is being played on the other side of the field. I’ve got to face the front of the field while marching to the sides. And so much more.

Yeah, so I just wanted to write that down just for a record that I actually had some sort of higher philosophical thought about marching band…

Andddd all the girls on our floor just got serenaded by the music fraternity. I don’t really know what to write now so…

Tomorrow I’m moving to my permanent housing for the year. I’m super excited. I don’t think I’ve ever wanted to go back to school this much.

Leave a Reply

