Two Decades.

When you say it like that, it seems like a really long time, doesn’t it?

Today’s my 20th birthday! And apart from the numerous Facebook birthday messages and occasional “Happy birthday!” from a friend or classmate, being 20 doesn’t feel that much different from being 19. I am just at that awkward limbo age that’s somewhere between teenager and legal adult.

Birthday’s have never been a big deal to me. We didn’t really celebrate it with gifts in my family. We might get a cake, but that’s because we just need an excuse to buy a delicious dessert.

When I was a kid, all I wanted to do was grow up. I hated the trivial playground drama, and believe me there is quite a bit of it. And in middle school, I just wanted to get away from it all. I didn’t want to deal with that teenage girl gossip stuff and I don’t ever think I went through that “phase” in life. However, looking back in my recent years, I seem to have done more “childish” things than I did in my childhood. But who says arts and crafts is just for kids anymore, right?

I think my point is age is just a number. Because being “old” and in college doesn’t stop a person from acting like a kid who doesn’t know any better. And being 12 doesn’t mean a person doesn’t have the maturity to know what is meaningful and what isn’t.

In my next decade, I hope to make something of myself. There is so much out there that I want to do but haven’t yet. You see these guys who change the world with their inventions, innovation, and ideas. I want to join their ranks! I want to make a difference! Is it wrong to still dream big? I don’t believe so.

Leave a Reply

