One Woman’s Trash Is a Thrifty Woman’s Treasure

Sometime over Thanksgiving break (I know this post has been a long time coming) my brother dragged me along to Goodwill to do some thrift shopping. Normally, I’d be all out but I had just bought a bunch of new clothes and wanted to clean out my wardrobe before buying anything else, but I found something I could not pass up.

P1050814

 

This vintage sweater is long enough to wear as a dress. I love the bow color work. It’s totally adorable! There were only two small problems. Two holes in the underarm seams, one on each side. I didn’t find them until I had made my purchase and sadly Goodwill changed their return policy so I couldn’t get refunded. I took it since it was only $5 and figured I could find a way to mend the two holes. I ment to do it once I returned to school from Thanksgiving break but it took all the way until now, after Winter break for me to get around to it.

This video tutorial is so helpful. Add it to your favorites or bookmark it for future reference! The results are amazing easy enough even for a newbie sewer like me.

P1050823

I didn’t have navy blue thread but black worked just fine.

before and after small hole

The smaller hole. It was barely noticeable so this was a pretty easy fix.

before and after big hole

The bigger hole. The method worked like magic!

The method works similar to the mattress stitch used for invisible seaming of knits. Of course, it’s not perfect but it’s as great as anything. Especially because of the location of the holes, I didn’t really care what it looked like but this method is definitely usably for more obvious holes.

P1050835

So here I have a perfectly functional, cute sweater dress! I can’t wait to wear it after I wash it. There are two lessons to be learned here: 1) Always check your purchases when buying second hand and 2) If there’s a ruined garment, there’s a thrifty girl to fix it.

Leave a Reply

