Do you ever just?

Do you ever just get so obsessed with a math problem that you spend every spare minute you have all day trying to figure it out?

No? It’s just me?

In retrospect, it probably wasn’t the best use of the past 4 hours in which I could have spent getting a head start on my reading for this weekend and next week (aka birthday hell week). But I just can’t help it. When nature tempts me with a complicated math problem, I will stare it down until I can solve it. I’m not sure if it’s a good or bad thing. On one hand, I have perseverance and dedication. On the other, I have no tolerance for giving up even when it means I could be doing something more productive.

It’s just that the math class I’m in this semester is the toughest I’ve ever taken. The material is complicated, there’s calculus involved, and the professor is not the best teacher. And I’m not sure that I want to continue my math minor anymore, but I only have to take this class and one more next semester to complete it, so I’m sticking it out. While I wouldn’t become overly distressed if I got a *gasp* C in this course, I’d like to give it my best shot, even if it requires working on my homework more than a week before it’s due and spending hours on one problem.

Or maybe it was the fact that I was feeling like blech today and somehow that tiny epiphany I feel when figuring out a math problem made me feel a little bit better about myself? Like I accomplished something after skipping the gym, sitting through my least favorite class (this math class), and having a slow day at work. Maybe.

But in other news, I finished knitting a hat for my friend Carol, who was able to locate the four yarn bombs I placed on campus last Spring.

IMG_2593

I saw Ed Sheeran play at UD the other night. And now I’m in concert withdrawal, so Kyle Patrick or Jesse Ruben come to the tri-state area please because I need to see you again! Ed was amazing. I had doubts about his stage presence but he really knew how to control the crowd.

IMG_2616

And tomorrow (well, today at this point) I’m meeting my mentor! Whoo – excitement!

3 thoughts on “Do you ever just?

  1. love the hat – it is one of my favorite patterns.
    never met a good math teacher, which is probably why I hate math. But I totally get sticking with it for two more classes! And becoming obsessed with a puzzle/problem? Oh yeah! I llove puzzles and things, and so I can totally relate. I hope your week gets better, and that you get to hear great music, knit lots and solve the math problems.

Leave a Reply

