What are you thankful for this holiday season?

This Thanksgiving I am thankful for all of the amazing experiences and opportunities that was given this year

2013 was and still is a great year for me. I was able attend a life changing conference (which I hope to attend again next February), I was able to work for a huge company in an amazing city on the other side of the world, I have a part time job that I love that also gives me a little more spending money, and I have another experience waiting for me next summer. What more could I ask for?

This Thanksgiving I am thankful for my education.

I came across a blog post on the privilege of education and social justice advocacy a couple of months ago. While at times, realizing that you are part of an oppressed minority or an intersection of some can be depressing, it is also empowering to know that something is wrong and that you have the power in your hands to fix it. Ignorance may be bliss, but knowledge is empowering.

This Thanksgiving I am thankful for my class privilege.

Although my family came to America with literally the clothes off their backs, they worked hard so that my generation is able to have the option to go to college. Many others cannot say they have the same, so it is something that I take for granted everyday when I wake up and struggle to get myself to my first class. What hurts more than realizing that you are oppressed is realizing that you are privileged. If more people could see that, I think the world would be a lot nicer to live in.

Lastly, this Thanksgiving I am thankful for my family and friends.

Let’s all be honest and admit that not everything is rainbows and sunshine when it comes to the people you are the closest with but somehow they are still here.

Leave a Reply

