Superwoman Semester

Fall 2013 is finally over. And I am both relieved and anxious of the fact that I am now more than halfway done with my college career.

You know this thing?

I somehow did all of them, plus marching band, plus having a job, plus occasionally going to the gym. I don’t know how but I did it all, but it’s been done. Yes, I feel like Superwoman.

You know what my most hated excuse is? I don’t have time. Do not even try to talk to me about not having time when I was going straight from class to work to activities some days of the week not returning to my apartment until 9pm to start my homework. If you want to do it, you’ll get it done, trust me. You have time, it’s just not a priority.

It’s only now that I realize how much pressure I’ve put on myself by being involved on the executive board of so many clubs. It’s too soon for my peers to be telling me “when you are president next year.” Although I believe that I would a great leader for some of these groups and I would love to be one, if granted the opportunity, I am afraid of how much responsibility I will be putting on myself. The problem with my leadership is that I cannot trust other people to things for me. If I want it done right, I will do it myself.

Sometimes I just want to give up and see what it’s like being a mediocre student that’s not involved in any activities. Believe it or not they exist. Where I work, I do critiques of undergraduate resumes. Sometimes a Senior will come in trying to get their resume fixed up for a job after college and I see that they didn’t include an “Activities” section, and it’s because they are not in any activities. Seriously, how do you go through four years of college without joining any sort of club? Not even the hobby or sports clubs? My response: “Sorry, I guess you’ve got to work with what you got.”

Now I can just sit back and relax after my last final on Friday. This winter I’ll be working and making some moolah but for the most part I won’t have to worry about classes, grades, and leading activities for once. I’m going to knit and crochet and maybe get into beading. It’s going to be awesome. Oh, and I’ve got a finished crochet project that I’m almost ready to share. I must admit I’m pretty proud of it. You’ll see it on here soon :)

One thought on “Superwoman Semester

Leave a Reply

