2014 Sky Scarf Project

The Sky Scarf project is a conceptual knitting project by Leafcutter Designs whose outcome is dependent entirely on the weather observations of the knitter. The original pattern is based knitting a stripe based on the color of the sky for each day of the year. I found this project somewhere online in the past and for whatever reason, a couple days ago I remembered it again. Seeing as the new year is right around the corner, I thought it would be the perfect time to undertake this huge project. And I’m SUPER EXCITED. But rather than following the project exactly, I’m going to modify it slightly to create something that would be much more wearable than a sky blue scarf (because frankly, it’s not my color.)

Instead of the color of the sky, I’m going to be basing my stripes on high temperatures and instead of using colors that would traditionally associated with temperatures like cold blues and hot reds, I’m going to make a gray-scale scarf with pops of neon yellow for the hottest days. I deliberated over this a lot because I really wanted to make something where the heat of the summer could really be seen, but wearing rainbows isn’t my thing and I wanted to create something that I would wear a lot. In the end I think this idea would turn out pretty awesome. I also think I’m going to do a brioche stitch instead of garter like the original.

Because I’m an Excel nerd I generated what a prototype would look like based on 2013’s weather data. I downloaded some historical data and did some conditional cell formatting and this is what it would look like:

Screen Shot 2013-12-26 at 12.04.03 PM

Here’s my color chart. If only I could figure out how to put a table into WordPress…

  • Color – Temperature Range (Fahrenheit)
  • JUVELWOSMC.880.mediumThumb.1 < 32
  • JUVELWOSMC.500.mediumThumb.1 33 – 41
  • JUVELWOSMC.005.mediumThumb.1 42 – 50
  • JUVELWOSMC.002.mediumThumb.1 51 – 59
  • JUVELWOSMC.990.mediumThumb.1 60 – 68
  • JUVELWOSMC.980.mediumThumb.1 69 – 77
  • JUVELWOSMC.001.mediumThumb.1 78 – 86
  • imgres > 86

I can’t wait for my yarn to come so I can start this. Like every year I try to up my blogging game and this year with this project I’m hoping to be able to do a weekly/biweekly post for my Sky Scarf update. If anyone else wants to join me on this project kind of like a knit-a-long you are welcome to come along for the ride!

8 thoughts on “2014 Sky Scarf Project

  1. I have heard of this scarf and always was intrigued by the idea, but afraid I would set it own and forget about it. But the way you are doing it, you could catch up later, by checking the data! I love it. :-)

  2. This is such a great idea! My husband and I are trying to get pregnant, and I’ve decided to do a “color of the sky” project for every day of the pregnancy. That way, the baby blanket will be a representation of the actual pregnancy. Hopefully that will happen soon, and I can join you in your big project!

  3. Pingback: Sky Scarf Saturday 1/4/2014 | Girl Meets Yarn

Leave a Reply

