Yogic Time Management

It’s been quite a while since I last posted, and I’m only writing this because I’m procrastinating studying for my two exams coming up next week. (I know I need to do a sky scarf saturday but I don’t have a picture of my progress!)

This semester I’m taking yoga and I love it. I’ve been interested in yoga and meditation for a while, but ironically don’t have time to dedicate to it unless I strictly schedule it into my life. Before each practice, we are asked to reflect on a certain topic and write it down in our journals. This past week, it was about balance, both physical and life balance, and how to achieve it.

This past week has brought up a number of opportunities to eliminate stress factors in my life and achieve a more balanced life. Throughout high school and college, I had managed to cram just about everything I was interested in into my schedule. But there comes a time when you are no longer exploring options and opportunities, and you need to prioritize your commitments and figure out what is really important and positive for you. This applies to activities, work, people, relationships. Sometimes you just need to cut things out that are harmful to your mental well-being.

So I left a board I was part of and a team I was supposed to be on. I’ve limited communication to people I know would leave me in a bad mood. And with all that time I’ve saved, I’m able to focus my energy on the activities that matter to me – and sleep. In living in such an obsessive, reactive, workaholic, work-hard-play-hard culture, it is easy to lose a sense of self and forget self care. Especially as an introvert who is heavily involved in working in groups and teams and organizing people, it’s easy to ignore my own needs when I’m working towards a common goal. But after so long, I need to have that moment for myself.

Last night I watched 2.5 great movies on Netflix, by myself, with yarn strewn across my covers, and ate mint chocolate chip ice cream. It was the most enjoyable evenings I’ve had in a really long time.

Leave a Reply

