My Sheepish Yarn Bomb!

Just a word of warning – I’m writing this post at 1:45am.

But, it’s never too early to start Sheepish Yarn Bombing Day!

Meredith over at One Sheepish Girl is one of my favorite bloggers. She always has creative and cute knit and crochet ideas and here pictures are impeccable. I hope to master her skill of blog photography one day – but today is not that day. Anyway, she came up with an idea that would unite all her readers into a day where we would all yarn bomb together. Thus Sheepish Yarn Bombing Day! And we can track everyone’s knit graffiti with the Twitter hashtag #sheepishyarnbomb.

Like Meredith, I too did my first yarn bomb last year. Yup, that’s the beautiful Green at the UD campus.

My first yarn bomb, taken the morning after the night/pre-dawn after I tagged this tree.

Well, since my first one was such a success, I was itching to do another. And all I needed was an excuse. And here was one right in front of my face.

What a person does on Friday nights really reveals their character, right? Well, I had an opportunity to go to a party and seeing that alcohol was going to be a huge part of it and I don’t drink, staying in and knitting up a few tags for yarn bombing seemed like a much more appealing option.

So around 9pm, I started my first and I finished my second just after 1am. There might have been an Oreo and Bananagrams break in the middle somewhere. This is what I ended up with:

Okay. I know the one on the right looks a little funky, but I was just using scrap yarn I wanted to get rid of and not really thinking about what it would look like.

I attached a piece of index card with the hashtag so curious folks may search it up on Twitter and see what this is all about. I want to educate the world on the art of knitting and knitting as an urban street art.

So it was around 1:30am when I left my dorm to tag some lamp posts across the street. Last time I yarn bombed, I woke up extremely early in order to not be seen, but this time, I was like screw it. I’m gonna yarn bomb even if drunk people are walking around campus. The drunk people probably won’t even remember seeing me. In the morning they’d probably be thinking, “How much did I drink last night? Did I see a girl attaching a piece of yarn to a lamp post? I can’t reven remember… I was probably too drunk…”

Here were the results. I’m going to take some more pictures in the morning.

As you can see, there were definitely people roaming around at 1:30am.

**EDIT**

So I went out this morning and on my way to brunch I checked up on my yarn bombs, and guess what I saw on one of the lamp posts?

 

That’s right. NOTHING. Someone took it! I don’t see any reason why anyone would take it or how unless they just carry scissors around everywhere. I guess it was good that only the ugly one was taken. The other one is still intact as you can see here.

 

It’s Blue and Gold Day! So a lot of perspective students are visiting and they’ll all see how awesome UD is because we’ve got rebels that love to tag lamp posts with knitted swatches.

Have you ever yarn bombed anything? Are you participating in Sheepish Yarn Bombing Day? Let me know in the comments and make sure you check the #sheepishyarnbomb tag on Twitter.

4 thoughts on “My Sheepish Yarn Bomb!

    • Well, I put up two and they were right across the street from each other. One was taken down by the morning after I put it up but the other one is still there! The first yarn bomb I did lasted from Valentine’s Day to almost a month later. I had to take it down because 1) it wasn’t Valentine’s Day month anymore and 2) it started to get worn by the weather.

Leave a comment