INTJ

The Myers-Briggs Type Indicator is a sort of personality test that measures a person on four dimensions: Extraversion/Introversion, Sensing/Intuition, Thinking/Feeling,  Judgment/Perception. It is often used to measure people’s career compatibility. The first time I heard of the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator was in my PSYC 100 class and when I met with my mentor for the first time last month, she asked me to take it so I could identify my strengths and weaknesses. Well I finally got around with it and I ended up being labeled an INTJ – introverted, intuitive, thinking, judgment.

I’m Draco Malfoy. Appropriate seeing as Pottermore put me in the Slytherin House. (Source)

While many criticize the test’s validity, I could not help but agree with my result. I can absolutely identify with those four dimensions. I’ve taken the interpretation from this page and cannot find a point I disagree with. Here are a few that I would say describe me perfectly:

Their mind constantly gathers information and makes associations about it. They are tremendously insightful and usually are very quick to understand new ideas. However, their primary interest is not understanding a concept, but rather applying that concept in a useful way.

This is why I’m always looking for internships. I can’t just sit and read a textbook to learn something.

INTJs are natural leaders, although they usually choose to remain in the background until they see a real need to take over the lead.

When I was younger I was definitely a background person and I usually still am until someone proves to be incompetent and needs better leadership.

INTJs spend a lot of time inside their own minds, and may have little interest in the other people’s thoughts or feelings.

It hurts a little because it sounds negative and it’s true. I’m not the greatest with feelings and I think people can be a little over-sensitive sometimes.

INTJs are ambitious, self-confident, deliberate, long-range thinkers. Many INTJs end up in engineering or scientific pursuits, although some find enough challenge within the business world in areas which involve organizing and strategic planning. They dislike messiness and inefficiency, and anything that is muddled or unclear. They value clarity and efficiency, and will put enormous amounts of energy and time into consolidating their insights into structured patterns.

My career goal in a nutshell. This is why I study Operations Management which involves efficiency and strategic planning. There is no room for waste in my book.

Others may falsely perceive the INTJ as being rigid and set in their ways. Nothing could be further from the truth, because the INTJ is committed to always finding the objective best strategy to implement their ideas. The INTJ is usually quite open to hearing an alternative way of doing something.

I have experienced head-butting with people this way before and I never understood why people always think I’d be offended by their ideas! This has happened in many occasions in this semester alone. I am often in a position of leadership with my peers where we are sharing the responsibility. Because I like to stay in the background until I am needed, I usually do not run for the top dog positions and let someone with more charisma be the face of the organization. However, when I take a step back and leave them room to be a leader, they let me down! And sometimes, these peers look to me for guidance whereas I am expecting them to step up and bring new ideas to the table. It’s incredibly frustrating sometimes and makes me wish I would have more drive to just take that top position because I know I’d be good at it.

INTJs are most always highly competent people, and will not have a problem meeting their career or education goals. They have the capability to make great strides in these arenas.

And that is just the icing on the cake.

I’m a rare one. Only 2-4% of the population has a personality like mine. No wonder I have trouble finding people who can think on the same wavelength as me.

I’m interested in learning about how having this knowledge about myself can help me become a better business person. From what I’ve read, it’s going to be hard for me to get my ideas across and appeal to people who don’t think the same way I do. That’s not something you want to hear when all you want to do in life is sell your point of view as something that will better society.

Why don’t you take the MBTI yourself and tell me what you think about your personality? Do you agree and like what you see?

5 thoughts on “INTJ

  1. INFJ
    Introvert(44%) iNtuitive(50%) Feeling(38%) Judging(33%)
    You have moderate preference of Introversion over Extraversion (44%)
    You have moderate preference of Intuition over Sensing (50%)
    You have moderate preference of Feeling over Thinking (38%)
    You have moderate preference of Judging over Perceiving (33%)

    Not sure how I feel about the results. I agree with the first three. The last was a bit of a surprise.

    • The test obviously can’t be completely valid. However, I’d go as far as saying that certain personality types may be more inclined to agree with their results, especially if they are the confident sort of person who is comfortable with their personality and seeks to validate their unique qualities. At least, that may be why I feel like my result was so spot on!

  2. “Only one percent of the population has an INFJ Personality Type, making it the most rare of all the types.”

    Somehow that doesn’t make me free special…I feel more alone lol.

  3. I did this test years ago, with my coworkers – I am an ISFJ, and I supervised a complete team of ENTPs. OMG it was crazy! But this test really helped us figure out how to work better together. They actually got me a bell I could ring when I wanted them to shut up so I could say something at staff meetings. :-) Having this understanding really helped us work well together and have more respect for our differences.

    • That’s a very interesting perspective! I think that being aware of yourself and your surroundings definitely helps you cope with difficult situations. It helps you make sense of everything.

Leave a comment